Suddenly Single

My 10 year relationship with my partner ended last night and I have found myself single.  The break up didn’t come as a surprise.  Things have been not good for the past month or so (perhaps longer) and whilst I was willing to try to patch things up, my ex had moved on and found herself someone else.  That part really hurt.

However, the timing couldn’t be worse as I fly out to Germany in 8 days time to compete in the Gay Games, then again time away from all this might be just what I need.  When I get back, I’m moving out of our place and fortunately some wonderful friends of mine have offered to take me in until I get my life sorted out. Untangling our 10 years together is going to be rough and no doubt painful – I’m really not looking forward to that part.

I’m trying to focus on the positive and look at this as an opportunity to re-evaluate my life and stop putting off all the things I have wanted to do.

But honestly, this just fucking sucks.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Autism. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Suddenly Single

  1. Fiona says:

    argh. I do not envy you right now.

    Enjoy the games, have some fun (I hope) and good luck with the moving and untangling. No idea how to do that after so long.

  2. Ro says:

    Holy crap, I’m so sorry to hear that, Riayn.
    Just take it one day at a time, and I hope you’re able to get some enjoyment from the Games. (((hugs)))

  3. I’m so sorry to hear this.

    Please give yourself as much quiet downtime as you can manage. Dealing with this on top of daily stress and a trip abroad… you deserve better. I’m glad to hear you have good friends who will stand by you.

    Take care of yourself and hang in there.

  4. Karita says:

    I’m really sorry to hear this, honey. Take it easy and look after yourself to manage the stress as best as you can.

  5. Much love to you…..I can’t imagine the pain after being with someone for 10 years. I’m excited to hear about your new life/job prospects – definitely sounds like an adventure!

  6. I had no idea.

    So wrapped up in my own little dramas, I didn’t take the time to see what was going on in your life (hence the tweet about WHY you were in Germany)

    I am sorry babe. Sorry for the messy break up, and sorry for not being there even to just say ‘hey, how you doin’?’

    • Riayn says:

      That okay Kelley. You are dealing with your own stuff that from the sounds of it is big, scary and frightening. It’s okay to be consumed by that.

What are you thinking?

