Beautifully Different #reverb10

Prompt: Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

I’m just going to ignore the beautiful section of this and just focus on what makes me different.  You can make up your own mind if it makes me beautiful or not.

  • I’m a lesbian
  • I have Asperger’s Syndrome (a form of autism), which I was diagnosed with earlier this year (talk about a shock to the system).  I’m fortunate that my Asperger’s is mild so it’s effects are mainly quirks rather than disabilities, but it is what makes me good at my job, so overall I’m okay with it.
  • I have a passion for forensic science and have training in forensic anthropology, forensic DNA and cybercrime.  It’s an odd hobby to have and even though I love crime procedure shows (NCIS, Bones etc), I will nitpick the science. This makes me rather irritating to watch TV with at times, unless you like that kind of thing. I have also been known to drag friends through crypts and medical museums featuring dissected body parts, so be warned.
  • I’m a drama geek.  I grew up doing musicals and pantomimes, took a 15 year break and am now back doing Improv. Think of Glee and you have a pretty good idea of what my childhood was like.
  • I actually like poorly written, badly acted disaster films. Yes, I do yell at the TV especially when the science is so wrong, it’s beyond funny, but I’m actually enjoying myself.  I also officially apologise to all the people who were in the cinema when I saw 2012 and had to put with me laughing through the entire movie.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beautifully Different #reverb10

  1. Different
    The notion of being different is recently very trending. But reading the term ‘different’ makes me stumble. Typically the same term is used by a larger group of people in a excluding manner. Every time someone uses ‘I’m different’ the point of view switches but notion of different does not. So my brain automatically implies that he or she complies with this segregation. Maybe my understanding of the the word ‘different’ is too narrow. But when used on people I can’t help myself to think of the German translation ‘andersartig’. And I don’t think you are ‘andersartig’ just because of your individual characteristics.

    Cogito ergo sum
    Don’t get me wrong. I like your post a lot. It emphasizes how individual people actually are. Knowing about what we re and what we are not is a huge thing. Self-awareness indeed makes people beautiful and amazingly interesting.

    Any thoughts?

    PS: Had these thoughts for a long time now. Using your blog to let go. I hope you don’t mind :)

  2. I love it :) Especially the 2012 part.

  3. Mandi says:

    Ah man, too bad we didn’t meet earlier! I spent two years at a forensic medical institute in Hamburg. I was more interested in the clinical forensic part, but had plenty of offers from the boss to take a tour of the morgue (I turned him down). I also did some occasional translations/proofreadings of papers on lots of crazy forensics cases, and its funny to watch crime shows knowing even the little bit that I do now. Fun times. :)

    • Riayn says:

      You turned down a trip to the morgue? The morgue is so fascinating. I was fortunate enough to attend several autopsies during my time at university. I also loved reading papers about cases. My lab partner and I had a competition to find the strangest case we could every week. My favourite was the guy who was shot, buried and dug up a year later and shot again (just to make sure he was dead).

  4. Pingback: Different/Party/Wisdom/11 things/Body integration/Action | rainbowtatt

What are you thinking?