In Old London Town

One of the perks of my new job is the prospect of being sent occasionally to London to hang out with the team in our London office.  Now that I have my visa which will let me come and go to and from Germany as I please, I have been sent across to the London office to meet and greet our UK clients and run some training with our London team.

I’m still trying to get my head around London being less than a 2 hour plane ride from my new home town rather than a 24 hour one as it was from my old home town.  It seriously took less time to fly from Hamburg to London this morning then it did to get through passport control and into the centre of London. Pure madness. However, I have to admit I didn’t enjoy getting up at 4am to catch my plane.

After spending 3.5 months struggling to function in German, my brain is having a little trouble functioning solely in English.  Never would have expected that.  However, it seems I greet and thank people in German without even thinking about it now, as several poor Londoners have found out.  Perhaps with more caffeine and a decent night’s sleep, I will get my brain back to thinking exclusively in English, probably just in time for me to return to Germany.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In Old London Town

  1. Jen says:

    Have fun! I’ve never been to London, but it’s on the list! And whenever I go home, it takes me a few days to stop speaking German to everyone, and when I come back, it takes me a few days to stop speaking English to everyone. :-)

  2. Karita says:

    It took me ages to function purely in English once I came back from Syria, there’s an art to it! You’ll get there. But not too much hopefully – keep the German! ;-)

  3. wodenhausen says:

    Wow! Hadn’t even thought of this…but I can imagine. Just the little things like Danke, Entshuldigen, and Bitte??? that I use everyday (and now seem to come naturally) probably just roll off the tongue, huh? Have fun in London! It’s a fantastic city. :) It probably feels just as strange to hear English all around you again, doesn’t it? The German now blends into normal everyday sounds. I go back for work the end of the month…wonder which will give more trouble this time? The traffic from the opposite side or forgetting to switch to English?

  4. Pingback: Background Noise « Learning to love being an expat

  5. scottsabode says:

    London is my favourite city in the world, and I love being a two hour train ride from there. Just like you I am amazed at how close we are to all of these places that seemed so far away back in Australia.

What are you thinking?

