The Balcony Flower Box

I am extremely lucky that my new apartment has a flower box built into the balcony as it has always been a secret wish of mine to have a flower box. Therefore yesterday, since it was so sunny and warm, I went and brought some dirt (55 litres) and some Primroses and began building my little balcony garden.

However, I’m undecided what else to put in my little flower box as it is looking rather sparse, besides lavender which I need to wait until mid-May for.  Any ideas?  What are the traditional flowers that people have on thier balconies here?

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Balcony Flower Box

  1. Dixie says:

    Geraniums are very good. They can take a lot of sun and will keep blooming as long as you pick off the dead blooms. I would suggest you get a very large pot for lavender and not put them the flower boxes because of how they spread and then take the pot inside over the winter. Get standing geraniums and don’t crowd them as they need room to fill out.

  2. In addition to Dixies suggestion (geraniums in German flower boxes is almost a cliche), I’d suggest things like purple basil, dill, parsley, etc. An edible flower box.

    • Riayn says:

      I had thought about adding herbs in, but not sure I have enough room. Unfortunately the box is not that big and I’m not sure if the plants would like to be all squished together.

  3. Frau Dietz says:

    We just decked our balcony out too :) Unfortunately I have no idea what we bought, and I am pretty sure we will manage to kill it all off fairly promptly. Actually I lie, I do know what one of them is: jasmine. And it smells AMAZING.

    • Riayn says:

      I hadn’t considered jasmine. You are right, it does smell so beautiful. I think with all the plants I’m now wanting to buy I’m going to have a balcony covered with pots.

  4. Pingback: Planning my Balcony Garden « Gardening – Indoors!

What are you thinking?

