Today I Shall Be Wearing My Cranky Pants

Fair warning, I’m cranky.  Cranky like only two nights of barely any sleep and a very early start in the morning can make you.  Okay, so the nights of barely any sleep are my fault. One of them for stupidly testing if I can go off one of my medications – that answer would be hell no, and the other as I attended the première of my theatre company’s production of Pygmalion last night, which was so amazingly fantastic. Seriously, if you live in Hamburg, go and see it!

The early morning is due to my APAC team asking if I could run this week’s training session at 8am instead of 9am due to Europe going back to winter time. I agreed, I’m an agreeable person.  I would have only been a little bit cranky if that was all. However, the people I was running the training for, didn’t show up (except for my Chinese team and I love them dearly for that as they weren’t even required to attend). This makes me unbelievably cranky. I do not appreciate having my time wasted, especially when I could have slept in.  One does not steal my sleep-in without incurring my wrath. I’m trying to be adult about it, but damn that is hard. I just want to stamp my feet and go and pout in the corner.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Today I Shall Be Wearing My Cranky Pants

  1. Frau Dietz says:

    I feel your pain: I have (as you know!) been stamping my feel all morning, and I just nearly got into a fight at the swimming pool with a woman who tried to swim directly into me and, whilst I was trying to get out of her way whilst avoiding someone else (agile as I am *cough*), PUSHED me. Not in an accidentally way; it was a proper SHOVE. HARD. This has done nothing to improve my mood. Nothing at all.

    *grump*

    • Riayn says:

      She pushed you?? That is so damn rude. I would have given her a piece of my mind.

      • Frau Dietz says:

        I was so totally shocked I had no idea what to say… especially not in German… or whilst splashing about in the water… plus my immediate reaction was that of wanting to smack her in the face in return – not that I’m a violent person ;) – so it’s probably best that we just ignored each other. I moved well out of her way, but she’s annoyed me before so I’ll be keeping my eye on her ;)

        May our days only improve from here :)

  2. I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who has those days where I just feel like being “cranky” and there’s nothing anyone can do about it. I feel for you on having your time wasted–that would be one of the easiest ways to get me to pull on my cranky pants and button them up tight!

  3. Can I ask you what type of meds you’re on? Are they specifically for sleep?

    I’ve been having a lot of those mornings too. I usually find if I force myself to keep trudging that things eventually work themselves out.

    • Riayn says:

      Only one of them is. It’s an old style tricyclic antidepressant which helps regulate the serotonin in my brain. Apparently my brain can’t uptake serotonin and thus kick off the sleep cycle, so I just don’t sleep no matter how tired I am.
      My other medication is an old style anti-seizure drug which regulates my pain disorder.
      So basically I’m using old drugs for purposes they were not really intended for since I don’t have depression or epilepsy, but it works for me.

  4. I would be wearing my cranky pants, cranky shirt and kick your arse for making me cranky heels.

    xx

What are you thinking?