Tournament & Countdown to the Gay Games

Yesterday I competed in a martial arts tournament to get some much needed competition practice before I head off the Gay Games.  Because I wanted to get as much practice as I could, I entered 6 events (usual tournament entry is only 3 events).  This was pure madness on my part, cause whilst I did get lots of practice, I was absolutely exhausted afterwards and now everything hurts. I also have some great bruises developing, including one on my leg which was covered by a shin guard.  I have no recollection of being kicked so hard it would cause me to bruise under my guard.

Of the 6 events I entered, I placed in 4 of them – 2nd place in soft forms, veteran sparring and beginners/intermediate sparring and 3rd in hard forms.  I was happy with that, but now there is no more room on the mantelpiece for any more trophies.

Just one more day before I fly out to the Gay Games.  I have so much work to get through tomorrow that it is bordering on ridiculous.  I really hope that I’m going to get through it all.  Then tomorrow night, I’m off to the Sydney Opera House to see Stephen Fry.  I have been a big fan of his since I was six and watching A Bit of Fry & Laurie with my dad.

Therefore, all my packing needs to get done tonight.  I have done the majority of it, but because it has been raining and is cold and damp here, none of my clothes are drying.  I really hope that they are dry by midday Wednesday when I need to head to the airport.

So much is going on at the moment that it is all chaotic.  I’m looking forward to my 3.5 weeks overseas where I can relax and take things easy, before the insanity kicks back in again on my return home.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tournament & Countdown to the Gay Games

  1. Good luck at the Gay Games! I hope the time away will help you to look after yourself for a bit.

  2. Good to read about another Stephen Fry fan.

    Congratulations for the soft forms and hard forms.

    Have a great time “across the seas”.

  3. outoutout says:

    I’m SO jealous that you got to see Stephen Fry “live”! I, too, was a big fan of his show back in the day.
    How did it go?

What are you thinking?

