The Life Changing Event

Flag of the city Hamburg.

Image via Wikipedia

Finally I can reveal what The Life Changing Event is now that the relevant people have been officially informed.

I’m moving to Hamburg, Germany!

My company is relocating me to the German office to head up the support team for the EU/UK region.  Basically, I will be doing the same job I do here in Sydney, just in Hamburg. I had to wait until my co-workers had been officially told before I was publicly allowed to say anything.

I leave Sydney on the 24th September, so I’ve just over 4 weeks (3 weeks now) to get everything for my departure ready.  It has been a mad scramble that is still going on, but with all my to-do lists, it is gradually getting done.

Living in Germany is going to be an adventure.  I don’t speak German besides a couple of phrases, most of them about how I don’t speak German.  Therefore renting an apartment, opening a bank account and even going grocery shopping is going to be challenging. Hell even ordering my lunch is going to be hard.  I’m really hoping that my new German colleagues will help me out.  Fortunately, my job will be conducted all in English (phew!) but the rest of my life will be in German.  I will be enrolling in evening classes which start the week after I get there.

One of the things that was really worrying me was meeting new people and making friends in a strange city where I don’t speak the language. However, I have joined an English speaking expat forum for people living in Germany and have met lots of awesome people through there.  In fact, I’ve been invited out for drinks during my first week in Hamburg already.  Also, I have found an amateur English speaking theatre group I can join, plus a gay & lesbian karate club (German speaking) so I’m feeling a little bit better about being able to meet people and find some friends.

I’m a mixture of excited and completely stressed out.  However, I think the change in scenery, in fact a change in my whole entire life, will do me good.  Living and working overseas is something I have wanted to do for many, many years and I am now going to live that dream.

Needless to say, this blog is going to change its focus to what it’s like for an Aussie geek girl to live in Germany.  There will still be stuff about autism cause I’m sure my Aspergers is going to cause lots of embarrassing situations, but that will no longer be the primary focus of my blog.  Hope that you all will still want to stick around for the journey.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Life Changing Event

  1. Oh, I’ll want to stay around!

    Hamburg is a great place.

  2. Karita says:

    I’m definitely sticking around. I’ve lived in another non-English-speaking country myself, so I can understand your excitement/stress. It’s great news! :D

    • Riayn says:

      Where were you living? How long did you stay there for and what was your overall opinion of the whole experience?

      Glad to have you along for the journey. :)

      • Karita says:

        I lived in Syria for a year. I understood Arabic, but could barely speak a word when I first got there. I was mute for about three months. ;-) It was a fantastic experience – terrifying, challenging, exhausting, fun and definitely the most rewarding experience of my life so far. I hope it will be the same for you. :D

  3. Riayn says:

    Wow, what an awesome experience to live in Syria.

  4. Congrats on the relocation bid! I’m always impressed by peoples courage to get up and relocate. It looks like you’re really planning ahead to keep yourself busy and educated. I’ve been told that making those connections is the key to success.

What are you thinking?

