Family Farewells

Since it is now less than 3 weeks until I leave for Hamburg (if everything with my visa goes smoothly *crossed fingers*), I have began having to say goodbye to everyone here in Australia. Today, it was my extended family – aunts, uncles, cousins, second cousins who all live in Newcastle.  It was quite a crowd.  I usually only see my extended family once a year about a week before Christmas for our annual Christmas brunch so it was nice to catch up with them.  My second cousins (4 boys, 1 girl) have all grown up.  Codie, who I used to carry around in my arms is now 13 and like most girls her age is on Facebook talking about boys and mocking people’s fashion mistakes. Nothing like that to make you feel really, really old.  Since she has just friended me, I guess I passed the cool test. :) Zach, who is 14, is now taller than me and at 5’9 I’m not short.  Seriously, the kids I used to dance to the Wiggles with should not be taller than me already. I came away from brunch feeling very ancient.  But they are all turning into awesome people which is just great to see.

I also said goodbye to my Nana and Parka (my mother’s parents) which was sad.  They used to take care of me when I was a kid and so we are really close.  I found out today that they have filled in all the paperwork to have their bodies donated to medical science when they die which I think is a truly awesome thing to do.  Also had to have the  depressing conversation with my parents about if I should come back to Australia for any funerals that may occur whilst I’m overseas.  Yeah, that was a cheerful discussion but a necessary one.

Still stressing about my visa situation.  I’m really ready to head off to Germany at the end of the month but if I need a visa before I go then it has to be done.  I certainly don’t want to risk being kicked out of the country and not allowed back in again.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Family Farewells

  1. Fiona says:

    Argh goodbyes are hard.

  2. Ro says:

    Good luck with the visa and congrats on the job move, that is wonderful!

  3. Ditto to Fiona re: goodbyes.

    You are one brave person.

    • Riayn says:

      Actually I don’t see what I’m doing as brave. It could be a rather foolish move if it all goes pear-shaped. But I’m doing what I want, following my dream. Kinda being selfish for once.

What are you thinking?

