W00t!

I got the official okay today that I can enter Germany without a Residency Permit and apply for it there, which means I will be leaving the country on my planned departure date – 24th September.

I’m so relieved and so happy as I have been stressing about this since last week.  I pretty much have to be out of the house by the 24th and as my ex, who I still live with, is having her new girlfriend (the chick she cheated on me with) coming to stay from Canada and I really, really, really do not want to be around for that.

Also, I’m ready to start my new life – in fact more than ready.  I’m in desperate need of a space of my own and to be moving on with my life.  I feel trapped in limbo at the moment.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to W00t!

  1. Fiona says:

    yay! great to be able to move on in life

  2. Karita says:

    Fantastic news. :D

  3. Congrats! Getting a residence permit was one of my biggest worries before I left as well and it’s a huge relief. I got mine in Germany as well. It’s a two step process, but it worked! I hope you enjoy Germany. It sounds like you’re definitely ready for a change.

    • Riayn says:

      I’m totally freaking out about it. I’m trying to tell myself that I should be okay because I have a job lined up and it’s with the same company I already work for, so I have company knowledge that an EU person off the street wouldn’t and therefore they shouldn’t deny it. However, I’m still worried about it.

      How are your German classes going??

  4. I totally understand. It was such a huge relief to get the sticker in my passport. We went and promptly celebrated with a glass of champagne at 10:00 am. The German classes are going well, thanks, but it’s overwhelming. I feel there’s so much that I don’t know and am so bogged down in grammar this week that I feel like I’m making little progress, but I know that I am. I just get impatient and expect to learn everything yesterday. I hope your German classes go well. I’m sure that through working you’ll pick up a lot of German as well. Enjoy your last few weeks at home, I’m sure you’re swamped!

What are you thinking?

