Gathering Information

On Thursday night, I had drinks with Sue, my awesome teammate’s Kym’s friend, who had lived in Hamburg for 7 years to find out what it is like living there as an Aussie expat.  Sue was extremely well-prepared – she brought maps! – and filled me in on everything I needed to know from where to live, the important life skill of layering, lüften and dealing with the directness of Germans.  It was also reassuring to know that the things I had read and researched myself were all correct and I wasn’t really going in with any wrong ideas.

I have also been told what football club I must follow (Hamburg has two) and reading up about the club and their anti-racist, anti-homophobic, left wing mindset, their embracing of sub-cultures, the fact they banned right wing neo-nazis from attending their games and their logo (the skull & crossbones), I am now a St Pauli (pronounced Saint Pal-li) fan. Seriously, how could I, a goth-lite, forensic anthrolopolgy nerd, not support a team whose logo is this.

Also, their games sound like they have a real party atmosphere.  Scary to think that there is a good chance I will become a football/soccer fan.

I am also steeling myself for the weather.  I knew that it rained in Hamburg about one day out of every three, but, as Sue informed me, I will be inside for at least 6 months a year and that the weather is so bad, that they call grey skies blue.  Excellent.  Don’t be surprised if there is a lot of bitching about the weather in my blog posts.

After meeting with Sue, I am feeling much more confident about the move.  Yes, there will be times when it will all become too much, too alien and too different (I’ve been warned), but on the whole, I think it will be a good thing for me.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Riayn

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Gathering Information

  1. Fiona says:

    From my few days alone in Hamburg I can attest the city was good to a lost little Aussie girl who had really crappy German.

    Quite liked the u and s bahns for getting around,a nd the bus system kicked in well after dark.

    • Riayn says:

      Excellent to hear. I have heard really good things about the public transport system there. Apparently it kicks ass over Sydney’s one, which honestly would be hard to do.

  2. Fiona says:

    ps your wishlist doesn’t seem to be linked right… I clicked it and it asked me to log in as if I was trying to access my own?

  3. ZMOG, I didn’t know you had a new blog!

    I am now officially a fan of St. Pauli ;)

    • Riayn says:

      Yes, this was my ‘oh crap, I’ve been diagnosed with Asperger’s blog’ and it is now my ‘oh crap, I’m moving to Hamburg’ blog.
      Doesn’t St Pauli’s have the coolest logo? I’m definitely going to their home games just so I can wear the cool fan gear.

  4. I’m so excited for you! Wishing you the best :)

  5. I’m so glad that you have someone who was able to share their experience with you before you leave. That’s fantastic! I also love the logo!

What are you thinking?

