5 Days To Go

Port-42

Image via Wikipedia

Five days to go until I move my entire life halfway across the globe to Germany.  My life is now packed up in five boxes with a suitcase and a backpack left to be packed. The fear and anxiety is starting to set in.  My life come Friday will never be the same again.

I’m excited to be starting an incredible adventure, but also scared. All the what if questions are invading my brain.  What if I don’t like it?  What if I don’t make any friends? What if my visa gets rejected? What if I find German too hard to learn? What if, what if, what if.

I guess it is only natural to be anxious when moving to a foreign country.  Hundreds of thousands have done it before me and the truth is,  if I hate it I can always go home.  Many people aren’t that lucky.

Time to focus on the positive things.  A brand new life and I will be living my dream of working overseas. I get to live in a different culture and have fun exploring all that that involves.  I will experience a truly northern hemisphere winter and perhaps if I’m really, really lucky a white Christmas. I have the opportunity to become bilingual, something I always wish I was as I feel so ignorant only speaking one language.

And if it all turns to shit, at least I’m going to have plenty to blog about.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 5 Days To Go

  1. Fiona says:

    That’s the spirit. At wordst, think of the readers ;)

    *breathe*

    take care.

  2. nyssa1968 says:

    I’m not going to say that it’s easy, because it isn’t. But, I have faith that you’ll easily make friends – you seem to be doing that already, which is brilliant. I think that you’ll be fine with the language (being in one place rather than travelling will help; as will doing day-to-day stuff). Of course it’s not going to be smooth – nothing about learning is – but hang in there. And cherish the moments when you look back and realise just how much you’ve learned :-)

    I can guarantee that you’ll have your great days, your “meh” days, and days when you’ll question whether it’s worth it. But, I think on balance you’ll love it.

    Anyways, all the best of luck, and don’t forget you’ve got a few friends across the channel!

  3. Laura says:

    I’m in awe of your bravery to do this. I didn’t even have the balls to move to Brisbane when I was given the chance when I was 19.
    *hug*
    You’ll find your feet over there, I just know it :))

    • Riayn says:

      Actually I wouldn’t have the balls to move to Brisbane when I was 19 either. I stayed in my home town until I was 20 before moving to Sydney – a whole 2 hours away.

  4. Ro says:

    Good on you and enjoy every moment, it sounds wonderful:)
    And you so have to post photos if you get a white Xmas ;)

What are you thinking?

