The Flight Over

I was not looking forward to the 23 hour flight to Heathrow followed by the hour flight to Hamburg. Not at all, not one little bit.  That was until my parents paid to upgrade my ticket to business class as a farewell present. Oh my!

Business class is a fantastic way to fly. The leg room you have is downright scandalous and then they add in a footrest and a seat that turns into a bed.  I was so unbelievably comfortable the whole way over. I also got about 9 hours sleep which was just pure heaven.

Also pure heaven were the meals all served on proper plates with white napkins.  Very posh.  I ate smoked salmon with cream cheese, parmasan chicken with bow tie pasta and chocolate cake for dinner 1. Refreshments were finger sandwiches.  I missed out on dinner 2 as I fell asleep during take off – pity, because I was really looking forward to having steak, yes, steak on a plane.  Breakfast was fresh fruit with a banana smoothie followed by a full cooked English breakfast – sausage, bacon, eggs and mushrooms.

I’ll never be able to fly business class again, cause honestly who can afford it, but I really enjoyed my brush with the upper class.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Flight Over

  1. Fiona says:

    Sounds awesome. i hope to one day get a taste of it.

  2. Jul says:

    I wish my parents got me presents like that!

What are you thinking?

