First Day of Work

Currywurst mit Pommes frites auf Helgoland

Image via Wikipedia

I had my alarm set for 6am, but my jetlag meant that I was wide awake at 5am. At 5:30am, I gave up on getting any more sleep and got up and went for a run in Stadtpark. It was dark and raining but it was so nice just to get outside and exercise.  It felt really good.

After my run I just pottered around the house until 8:30am when it was time to head into the city and go to work.  It felt very strange to be leaving the house so late, but here I have a 10 minute journey into work whereas in Sydney my commute was about 45 minutes.  I’m really not going to get through my podcasts with such a short commute.

I was a little bit nervous about meeting Neal and Florian, but I shouldn’t have been, they are awesome guys and made me feel extremely welcome. However, I had to dash their expectations of having a female in the office.  They thought me being around would soften their “raw” language when things went wrong.  But, as I told them, when things go wrong, my language gets pretty “raw” as well.  Also told them that I’m a tech geek and not into make-up and fashion.  Florian described it best when he said, “so you are a guy disguised as a girl then”.  Yes. Yes I am.

The guys took me out for a traditional lunch of currywurst, pommes frites with mayonnaise and a local cola drink called Fritz cola.  It was so good, but there is no way I can eat this food regularly and not stack on the weight. Hopefully there are some healthier, lighter options near the office.  We also decided to reinstate Bavarian Fridays where we go out to lunch at a local Bavarian restaurant.  I think I’m going to really enjoy Bavarian Fridays. :)

What became really apparent to me today is that whilst my job is predominantly in English, the office operates in German. All conversations are in German, except when they stop to translate it into English for me if it’s something I need to know.  This is going to be really good for me learning German hearing it spoken at work all day and hopefully the guys won’t mind me inflicting my bad German on them as I learn.

I had plans to go shopping for warmer clothes and some waterproof boots tonight, but after finishing up at 7pm (long day), I was invited out to the pub and wanting to bond with my new team, I said yes.

Going to the pub resulted in me currently writing this feeling very tipsy indeed.  You see, I’ve barely drank any alcohol in about 9 years (me and alcohol had a falling out when the tiniest amount of it starting making me violently ill) and therefore having a shot of some green concoction called a Grasshopper has turned me into a cheap drunk.  Fortunately, the shot didn’t hit me until I was on the train back home, so I don’t think I embarrassed myself in front of the guys.

All in all the first day of work in Hamburg was good.  I’ve got so much to learn about my new clients and how they operate, but I feel confident I can handle it or perhaps that’s the alcohol talking.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Day of Work

  1. Dee says:

    oooh I love my chips and mayonnaise! yum…

  2. So glad to hear that you had a good first day of work and are settling in nicely. Sounds like your work place will be a great way to learn German.

    • Riayn says:

      Yes, my workmates are awesome and have made my first week so easy. They are apparently looking forward to me practising my German on them when I start classes next week.

  3. Fiona says:

    Ugh currywurst made me so ill!!

    I’m sure thy won’t mind your terrible German! :)

  4. Pingback: My First Year in Deutschland | Counting Time

What are you thinking?

