Queer Beer

Just a short update tonight as it’s late (11pm) and I promised myself I would get up early and go for a run tomorrow morning.

Work is going well, but much more technical than the work I was doing in Oz. Here I’m expected to work in SQL whilst in Oz that was something I wasn’t allowed to touch, so a bit of steep learning curve is taking place.

This evening was Queer Beer, a meet up of GLBT expats.  It was the first ever one and there were five of us that turned up – 3 guys and two girls (Amber and myself).  We had a mixture of American, South American and Australian.  Everyone was just lovely and we have planned another Queer Beer for two weeks time, plus heading to Sneak Peak on Monday which is a preview showing of new release movie in English.

I’m loving being so social, which is odd for me.  I have been more social in the past four days than I’ve been for years.  But I feel it is really important to meet as many people as I can here so I can form a good network of friends. As my recent break-up has taught me, friends are important and they will see you through the tough times.

Ok, bed time.  I have photos.  I will upload them, just as soon as I have a night at home, which is hopefully going to be on Thursday – I need to do laundry.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Queer Beer

  1. Fiona says:

    Great to get those networks going :)

  2. Wonderful that you found a group of exats already. I go to a weekly expat dinner where we meet at different restaurants and always look forward to it since the sooner you make friends, the sooner you will feel more like its home. Glad to hear that everyone is going well for you so far!

What are you thinking?

