First Week in Hamburg: The Photo Edition

I’ve now been in Hamburg for one week and so far it’s been a fantastic ride.  The walk to and from the station is becoming familiar and things are slightly less alien than when I arrived.  I’m really looking forward to starting my language classes next week as I’m getting annoyed with my inability to speak German.

Anyway, I’ve promised you all photos and here they are:

This is the view from my window. No idea why there's a random statue of a sheep there.

This is the outside of my apartment building.

Poststrasse - this is the street that my office is on. My office is the red brick building.

This is my local u-bahn station. It took me days to learn how to pronounce it.

The Rathaus (Town Hall)

Jungfernstieg U-Bahn - this is the closest u-bahn station to my office.

Flags along the Binnenalster

The Binnenalster at Sunset.

One of the many canals in Hamburg.

The rest of my photos can be found on Flickr.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to First Week in Hamburg: The Photo Edition

  1. Jess Kahele says:

    Beautiful photos. I have always wanted to visit Germany. In fact I studied German for two years in high school. I can’t speak it, but I could recognize words that I saw on signs. I’ve been enjoying all your posts about traveling and making such a big change. You’re brave.

    • Riayn says:

      Brave or foolish, I haven’t worked out which yet. :)

      You definitely should save up and come visit, Germany is such a beautiful country. I can’t wait to explore more of it.

  2. Jul says:

    Aw, you arrived just a little too late for the annual Whiny Expat Blogger Meet-Up, which was in Hamburg less than a month ago. Being there reminded me what a wonderful city Hamburg is. Hope you’re enjoying it. Plus, people there seem to speak more English than they do in Munich!

    • Riayn says:

      I would have loved to have come to the Whiny Expat Blogger Meet-Up, perhaps next year.

      Actually, I found in Munich that when I started speaking really bad German, as I currently do, they switched to English. Here, they just let me carry on in German.

  3. Klaus says:

    Thanks to Twitter, I just stumbled across your blog. Great stuff. I was born near Hamburg and have lived there from 2003-2009, before moving to Taiwan, where I am now working as a reporter for German media. Different culture, difficult language… Now I know what you are up for!

    I hope you will have a great time in Hamburg, make it to the next summer, which will be beautiful. Fall and winter, weather tends to be shitty.

    Will follow your adventures in that weird country that is Germany. Good luck getting St. Pauli tickets!

    • Riayn says:

      Thanks for stopping by and saying Hi. :) Wow, Taiwan is quite a change from Germany. How are you enjoying your life there?

      I’ve heard St Pauli tickets are hard to come by, hopefully I’ll be able to score some of at least one game this season.

  4. Liron says:

    Hey, we should have lunch together! My office is 10 minutes from yours.

  5. Pingback: My First Year in Deutschland | Counting Time

What are you thinking?

