The Surreal World of Online Dating

I decided to join an online dating site.  I’ve never done the whole online dating thing before and whilst I’m not looking for a serious relationship at the moment (but if one finds me I’m not opposed to it), I thought it might be a bit of fun.

So I filled out my profile and answered their match questions, some of which were just a bit out there and was totally amused when the site kept trying to match me with girls living in Israel – does this site know about my crush on Ziva from NCIS?

I don’t considered myself attractive nor can I write a good profile to save myself, so I was kinda shocked when this pretty cute looking girl contacted me.  Some flirting took place and she is interested in something more. Now I’m not sure about jumping into another relationship so soon after my last one ended nor am I sure that a long distance relationship is for me, but this girl still seems interested even after learning all of this.  So I guess I will see where this goes.  If it doesn’t go anywhere that’s fine as already it’s been an awesome boost to my self confidence which was pretty shattered by my ex deciding that she wanted to be with someone she’d never meet rather than me.  Maybe I’m not as undateable as I thought I was.

And before you all get worried about me, yes I’m aware of the dangers of online dating and people pretending to be someone that they aren’t.  I’m doing this all with a healthy dose of skepticism and not taking things too seriously.  I figure if I meet some great people and make a few friends, it’s all good. As with the rest of my life, I’m just going to enjoy the ride.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Surreal World of Online Dating

  1. Fiona says:

    It’s good just to treat it all as a bit of fun, so many people out on those sites who will message you but never get around to meeting up, will chicken out, or aren’t who they seem.

    Have a play on okcupid if you haven’t – tis a fun site :) very nerdy ;) even if you don’t meet anyone there, there’s plenty of nerdy cool people who are up for a chat.

    Obviously, take safety precautions, but you’re a smart girl :)

What are you thinking?

