Couch to 5K – First Workout

I’ve always struggled with my weight.  At my worst,  I was up to 90kg.  About 18 months ago, I decided enough was enough and I wasn’t going to be a fatty any more.  I lost the weight and have kept it off for over a year.  Due to the stress of ending a 10 year relationship my weight dropped to 67kg, which was way too skinny to the point that my friends were getting rather concerned.

Since being in Germany for the past 6 weeks, I haven’t really done any exercise.  I’ve also stopped stressing and started to enjoy life again (& the awesome food here) and I’ve put about 2kg on.  I know that at the moment, I’m not in danger of becoming overweight but this time I want to start getting back to healthy habits before there is a problem. Therefore,  I need to start exercising.  Also, I feel much better within myself when I exercise. This is why I’ve started doing the Couch to 5K program.  I’ve always wanted to be a runner, but the sad truth is I can’t run.  I’m so terribly bad at it. However, now is the time to change that.  I have a gorgeous park right near my house and the only thing I was lacking was motivation and the ability to get out of bed in the morning. I’m determined to change this.

I got out of bed at 6am this morning, put on my running gear and loaded my iPod with the Running Mate Couch to 5K Week 1 podcast.  The park was gorgeously misty in the pre-dawn light and I must admit I really enjoyed being outdoors in the crisp air.  It was dark enough that my fellow joggers couldn’t really see how bad my running style is so there was no need for me to get all embarrassed about that.

The first week’s workout is divided up into 5 minutes warm up and cool down with 4 intervals of 2 minutes jogging and 3 minutes walking.  It was a comfortable workout but my legs sure felt it when I finally sat down after arriving back home.

It felt good being back exercising.  I just have to keep up the motivation and not let myself slack off.  So, is anyone else doing the Couch to 5K program?  If so, how are you going with it?  Have you seen your fitness improve?

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Couch to 5K – First Workout

  1. Merry says:

    When I first started, a long-time runner told me that she always hated the first couple miles of a run. And I found myself that I hate the first 20 minutes of any run. After that, the body seems to give up complaining and you get into a groove. It’s still work, but not nearly as unpleasant.
    Not sure if this is still true for people who run long distances though.
    Good luck!

    • Riayn says:

      My run is only just over 20 minutes and 5K is only 3 miles – good to hear I’m not supposed to enjoy it. :) However, you are right, once you get into a groove, it’s not as bad.

  2. This couch to 5k sounds interesting. I’m overweight and have never been a runner. I have been having dreams about running though so this has peaked my interest. It sounds like a great idea!

    • Riayn says:

      Then you definitely should give it a go, especially since you have dreams about running as this is exactly what the program is designed to do – teach you to run. Let me know how you go with it.

  3. Fiona says:

    I was never a runner in school, and so when i started a few years ago it was sooo hard. Still is, but I can do 5k now, and hope to get to 10k !

What are you thinking?

