A Walking Tour of Hamburg

On Sunday, it was forecasted to be fine and a top of 12C so I thought it would be a perfect day to take a walking tour of Hamburg and explore what my new hometown has on offer.

On the way to the station I took some pictures of the gardens around my apartment building because they just looked so beautiful in their autumn colours.

This is from right outside my window

I just love the autumn colours here

The walking tour I went on was one run by Sandeman’s.  This tour is free, all you pay is a tip at the end if you think the tour guide was entertaining and you had a good time.  The tour runs for approximately 3 hours and is a much cheaper alternative to the paid walking tours which last for about an hour and charge you roughly €30.

Just as our tour got underway, it started raining and kept on raining for the whole 3 hours.  I have now learnt never to trust the weather forecast here. Unfortunately, I really didn’t get many good photos as it was just a terrible day to photograph the sites.  Still the tour gave me a really good idea of what is around to see in Hamburg and the places I want to go back and explore more.

Pilgram Ways Sign Outside St Jacobi

St Jacobi

The building of an old shipping company which represents a giant net.

Chile Haus - which reminds me of the Flatiron in NYC

Wide view of Chile Haus - it's actually shaped like a ship

Our intrepid tour guide Judith in her witches' hat. It was Halloween.

This company made Zyklon B, the gas used to kill the Jews during the Holocaust

Adolf the Third - the Knight who helped establish Hamburg

The canals through the Warehouse District

More canals

I ended up giving Judith a €10 tip.  Her tour was excellent.  I definitely want to do this tour again, probably in late Spring/early Summer when the weather is really nice and you can get some really good photos.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Walking Tour of Hamburg

    • Riayn says:

      I haven’t yet been down to the Harbour as the weather has been just dreadful. I think it has rained almost every weekend I’ve been here. Hopefully we will get a fine one soon (alas not this weekend) so I can go and explore before winter sets in and it becomes too cold.

  1. scottsabode says:

    Thanks for the tour!

  2. Tui says:

    Hi,

    This is my first time visiting your blog. I found you via NaBloPoMo, which I’m also doing this year. It makes November so fun and inspiring.

    I’ve been to Germany, but not Hamburg. That walking tour sounds fun. I didn’t realize there were canals like that in Hamburg. Interesting post!

    Once again, nice to meet you. I’ll pop back and see how Nablo is going for you! :)

    Tui

What are you thinking?

