Late Night Improv

I normally do Improv on Wednesday nights but our theatre company has the opening night of their latest production today (Wednesday)  so we switched our class to last night.  This meant I had to do a mad dash from Stephansplatz where my German class finished at 7:40pm to Mundsburg where Improv started at 8pm.  I just made it.

Improv was, as usual, heaps of fun.  We had three new people that I hadn’t met before in the class so it was lots of fun working with them for the first time and learning their style.  One of the new girls T provided the running gag for the rest of the class.  She had referred to her partner in the scene as Mr Jefferson and then partway through the scene forgot his name and started calling him Mr Jeffer.  Every scene from then on contained some reference to the poor Mr Jeffer which just got funnier as the night went on and the more tired but hyped up we all got.

All of us being in this tired hyped up state decided that at 10pm when the class finished, we would go to the pub.  In hindsight, this was a very bad idea, but at the time, it was great sitting around with fellow theatre geeks talking theatre.  Ed, one of the new guys there, is a musical theatre geek like I am, so we spent a great deal of time discussing the merits of different musicals. We eventually left the pub just after midnight.

Such a late night meant I didn’t get to bed until 1am and even though I slept in until 8am (& still made it to work by 9am), I’m feeling absolutely exhausted this morning, not even Coke is helping. I really should know better than to stay out so late on a school night.  Every morning after a late night out I promise that I won’t do it again, but every time I get an offer to go out I completely forget how crap I will feel the next morning.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Late Night Improv

  1. Klaus says:

    That’s Life. With a capital L.

  2. Riayn says:

    Yes, but now I’m Tired. With a capital T. :)

  3. Merry says:

    I’m impressed with the waking up at 8 and getting to work by 9 bit. Sounds like once you’re out of bed, you move!

What are you thinking?

