Pommes mit Mayo

Pommes frites med salatmayonnaise
Image via Wikipedia

In Australia, you are given two choices of condiments to go with your chips/fries – tomato or BBQ sauce.  Therefore, I had never tried mayonnaise with chips as it was one of those ‘weird things’ they did in Europe and definitely not what was done in Australia.

My first encounter with pommes mit mayo was my very first day of work when the guys took me to the local currywurst haus for a ‘traditional’ German meal.   I liked what I tasted but I wasn’t completely sold on it.

In the past six weeks, I have grown to love my pommes mit mayo so much so that I now choose mayo over ketchup as my condiment of choice.  In fact, I’ve only used my bottle of ketchup once and that was so I could have pommes mit mayo und ketchup. Fantastic combination.

If I ever return back to Australia, I think I’m going to have to invest in a bottle of mayo as I won’t be ever be able to eat my pommes without it again.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pommes mit Mayo

  1. lelak says:

    As I recall, we had fries with mayo in Amsterdam.

  2. NFAH says:

    This is my favorite now too. Picked up traveling on the continent, and gets me disparaging looks when I try to get it in the UK and quizzical looks when I’m back in the US. But I don’t care. Yum!

  3. (Tartare sauce and chips are really nice too, and probably the closest I have had to Pomme mit Mayo).

  4. Merry says:

    And here I always thought Aussies put vegemite on everything in sight ;)

    I really need to go visit Australia sometime and cure myself of these unwarranted assumptions. Right now, when it’s all cold and gray and rainy here, would be a perfect time. The idea of going some place warm and sunny is really appealing.

    Especially if all the men look like Hugh Jackman…

    • Riayn says:

      We put Vegemite on a lot of things, but we draw the line at chips.
      Unfortunately, not all Australian men look like Hugh Jackman, actually very few of them do, but it is nice and sunny there at the moment and a great place to escape the northern hemisphere winter.

What are you thinking?

