The Audition Debate

The theatre company that my Improv group is attached to is having auditions for their upcoming production of “Play it Again Sam”.  The members of my Improv group were trying to convince me tonight to audition with them next Wednesday, but I’m really in two minds about it. Here are the pros and cons about auditioning:

Pros

  • Theatre productions are so much fun to be in and I’ve really missed doing shows.
  • It will be a great way to meet new people and make some more friends
  • Being in a show would be fantastic motivation to keep exercising during the winter months cause I really don’t want to gain weight before I have to go on stage.

Cons

  • I still haven’t received a decision about my visa yet.  What if it doesn’t get approved and I have to go home?  It would so bad if I actually got a part and then had to pull out.
  • Auditions are absolutely terrifying things to have to do. I really hate auditioning.
  • What if I completely embarrass myself??

I really don’t know what to do. One half of me is telling me to forget all my fears and just do it, whilst the other half is kinda terrified.  Then there is the whole visa issue…

Advice?  Thoughts?  Tell me what I should do.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Audition Debate

  1. NFAH says:

    It’s amazing how non-expats don’t realize how much of our days are spent weighing decisions based on visa and immigration issues. My best advice is to assume the best instead of the worst.

    • Riayn says:

      Once I get my work visa I can stop worrying about visa issues for the next 2 years, which would be really nice. However at the moment, I’m so worried that they are going to deny my application. But you are right, I should try to think more positively about it.

  2. Susan says:

    Just do it. If you get your visa and you didn’t you’ll be upset just as you would if you don’t get it and have to pull out. So there goes that reason!

  3. Kym says:

    Be brave..

    Audition…

    You need something to look forward to…

  4. I think do it. I completely understand the visa issue. Maybe talk to the group members about the visa issue and see what they think. Then you are just left with the fear factor…which you have battled and overcome before :)

  5. wodenhausen says:

    I agree with everyone else…besides, I would love to see you write about it!

What are you thinking?

