Random Thoughts

Time for another blog post where I collate all those random thoughts that have been going through my head that are not big enough for a blog post of their very own.

  • When did I start thinking of 6C as “not that cold”?
  • Will I ever get used to the sun setting so early?  Probably not.
  • My favourite store name in Germany so far is “Cult At Home”.  It never fails to make me laugh.  That said, they actually sell some really lovely looking things.
  • All the autumn colours are disappearing and the trees are now bare.  This makes me sad.  I really loved Autumn here.
  • I’m so ridiculously excited about the upcoming Christmas Markets.  We passed the ones at the Rathaus being set up and I’m not ashamed to say that I bounced around like a 4 year old, much to the amusement of my workmates.
  • It is also odd how much I’m really liking the whole Christmas season in general here in Germany, especially since I really didn’t like Christmas back in Australia and found it on the whole to be generally tacky. Maybe because here it doesn’t feel forced and unnatural.
  • Some days I feel like I’m gradually getting a handle on the German language and other days I can’t even order my lunch properly. This annoys and frustrates me.
  • I wonder if we will get any snow in Hamburg this year.  Some people are saying that this year we will have a mild winter whilst others are saying it will be worse than last year which was the worst winter in a decade.
Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Random Thoughts

  1. Mandi says:

    Yay, Christmas markets! They’re just about my favorite thing about Germany. But I sure as hell hope winter is nothing like last year — there was a three inch layer of ice on the sidewalks and streets for three months straight. I couldn’t walk anywhere without slipping and sliding. The only thing good that came out of it all was Alstereisvergnügen, that was super cool.

    • Riayn says:

      I’m really not looking forward to the ice. Having never experienced icy footpaths before, I can just see that I’m going to spend most of winter on my butt in the middle of the street. Maybe if I drink enough glühwein it won’t hurt. :)

  2. nyssa1968 says:

    It really isn’t until you live in northern Europe that you appreciate just how clever Constantine was in choosing the winter solstice festivals to steal for Christmas. All the lights, warmth, and the feast during the darkest days of winter… Once that’s over, the daylight hours do get longer again, even though the temperatures do drop further.

    Loving your blog posts!

  3. wodenhausen says:

    Oh, I think I can honestly say that I’ve had all of these thoughts at one time or another the past weeks, except wondering if the snow will be in Cologne this year and not Hamburg and I’ve obviously not been to the store that you speak of. I am especially excited about the Christmas markets, too. I spent over an hour the other day looking at videos online just to get myself more psyched up.

    • Riayn says:

      There is a Cult at Home store (although I think it might just be called Cult) in Cologne as I went there when I was there in August. Definitely worth a look if you happen to find it.
      Glad to hear I’m not the only one overly excited about the Christmas markets.

What are you thinking?

