Harry Potter & The Christmas Lights

This afternoon I headed to Hamburg’s English speaking cinema, Streits to see Harry Potter & The Deathly Hallows Part 1.  It was with rather mixed feelings that I saw this instalment of the Harry Potter films as going to see the newest Harry Potter film was something I did with my now ex ever since the first one was released.  It was rather sad thing to go and see this film on my own, but rather freeing as well – hard to explain.  Still I really enjoyed the film, but we are now really long past the time when these can be considered kids’ films. It was such a dark film but with too many Nazi overtones than I felt comfortable with, seeing as I was sitting in Germany watching it with a German audience.

After the film had finished, I played tourist and wandered around the city taking photos of all the gorgeous Christmas lights until my fingers turned numb.  I’m still sorting through the photos (I took about 120 of them), but this one is definitely the money shot.

The Hamburg Rathaus at Christmas

I think the Rathaus is my favourite building here, especially when she gets all dressed up for Christmas.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harry Potter & The Christmas Lights

  1. Jen says:

    Very nice nighttime shot. I like the Rathaus in Hamburg, too. :-)

    I ADORE Harry Potter, but the last few books (and movies, I guess), were just too dark for me and for some reason I just have no desire to see the latest installment. I don’t know….

What are you thinking?

