Non-Traditional Christmas Carols

One of my workmates is a huge fan of Christmas carols.  He has been begging to play them since the beginning of November but we have managed to hold him off until November 25th – this Thursday.

I hate the majority of Christmas Carols.  They are tacky and overly saccharine.  Also, as an atheist, I’m not rocking the whole God/Jesus praising thing. Therefore, I’m seeking some non-traditional Christmas songs that I can get my workmate to play to provide brief respites from the hell that is about to descend on my working day.

The ones I have already suggested are:

Six White Boomers

Christmas in the Sun

White Wine in the Sun (which unfortunately the workmate refuses to play *sigh*)

What other ones should I suggest?

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Non-Traditional Christmas Carols

  1. Em says:

    If you don’t want jesus-y ones, how about: Winter wonderland, O Christmas Tree (O Tannenbaum in German?), Silver Bells, Let it Snow, Grandma got run over by a reindeer, or…. White Christmas (which was written by Berlin, a Jewish guy, so you can be a bit subversive in playing it).

    You could also play Hanukkah songs… although I hate Adam Sandler, a lot of people seem to like his “Hanukkah”.

    • Em says:

      His Hanukkah song. Oy. Sorry.

      If you want to be super annoying (which I would be if I was forced to listen to stuff i didn’t like), you could suggest “Mr. Hanky the christmas poo” from South Park…

      • Riayn says:

        Unfortunately I really hate Winter wonderland, Let it Snow and White Christmas – they all fall under the extremely tacky and overly saccharine with me. Also, all very traditional, even in Australia where it is summer. I’m looking for the ones that you rarely ever hear played or have some comedic value.

  2. Em says:

    Until I sang it with chorus, I’d never heard Manhattan Transfer’s “Snowfall”; are you much for jazzy music?

  3. scottsabode says:

    Cyndi Lauper: Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree
    Drivin’ Home for Christmas: Chris Rea
    I have an entire CD of Christmas with the Brady Bunch
    Diana Krall also did a great Christmas album
    My favourite is a Muppet version of Santa Baby with Miss Piggy

  4. My all-time favorite is “The Christmas tree’s on fire” by Holly Golightly (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=acf7rqpICmQ)

    Sufjan Stevens has done some semi-bizarre lyrically non-traditional ones…”Come on Let’s Boogie to the Elf Dance” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bzrkyy9h4x8), “Did I make you cry on christmas day? Well, you deserved it” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bf2qhTEghd0&feature=related), or “That was the worst christmas ever!” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpmiPbDkvBQ&feature=related)

    Then there’s the delightfully un-tradition Tom Waits’ “Christmas Card from a Hooker in Minneapolis”… (Tom Waits – Christmas Card From a Hooker in Minneapolis) Although it doesn’t have much to do with Christmas outside of the title.

    That’s all I can think of at the moment. Good luck putting up with the barage of Christmas noises. Some of my friends work at the Christmas market, right across from a carousel that plays some of those tunes all day long, and I’m impressed that none of them has come home in a straight jacket yet.

  5. Wanda says:

    There’s always Spinal Tap – Christmas with the Devil :) My Christmas playlist includes: Maybe This Christmas – Ron Sexsmith, What’s so funny ’bout peace love and understanding – Elvis Costello, Christmas – Blues Traveller, Someday at Christmas – Jack Johnson, I want an Alien for Christmas – Fountains of Wayne, Promises to Keep – Transiberian Orchestra, Toy Sack – Bob Rivers, I believe in Father Christmas – Greg Lake, Father Christmas – The Kinks, and You Ain’t Gettin’ Diddley Squat – Heywood Banks. Hope this helps.

  6. Wanda says:

    BTW – White Wine in the Sun is the #1 Xmas song of all time…

What are you thinking?

