Two Months In

Today is my second month anniversary of life as an expat in Hamburg.  I’m still loving it here, in fact, I love it here so much that I will be devastated if my visa doesn’t get approved. I’ll survive and will have to find a new direction for my life, but here is where I really want to be.

My daily routine is now very familiar and I can basically do it on auto-pilot without having to think about how to get to the U-Bahn and how to get to my office.  I still get really nervous when I need to speak German in order to order lunch or buy something at the bakery, but I don’t feel as alien as I used to. In fact, I think it would be a slight shock to the system to go back to a country where everything is in English.  I’ve gotten used to the world being in German.

My two months here have been really good for me both mentally and emotionally.  I’ve proven to myself that I can survive in a foreign country where I don’t speak the language.  I’ve made tentative steps in building up a social network here, and whilst I still feel a strong need to connect with the local gay community, I’m not feeling as isolated as I did a month ago.

Life is good and it has been quite some time since I could honestly say that, but I can now.  Life is good and if the employment board will grant me my visa, I can see it becoming even better.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two Months In

  1. Fiona says:

    2 months! well, that has flown from my end!

What are you thinking?

