One Word #reverb10

Prompt: Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

There is only one word that can sum up 2010 for me and that is Eventful.

This is a brief summary of my year (actually just the last 5 months):

  • Had a 10 year relationship end in really not a very nice way.
  • Travelled to Cologne, Germany 2 weeks after the break-up to compete in martial arts at the Gay Games. Got 1 silver and 2 bronze medals. One might say I had a lot of anger to let out whilst competing.
  • Returned home and had one month to pack up my entire life to move Hamburg, Germany as my company had relocated me to the EU office.  Needless to say, this was a very stressful time.
  • Whilst loving my new life in Germany I had the specture of my visa not being approved hanging over me, which was finally removed this week when I was notified that it had been approved. Breathing a huge sigh of relief.
  • Now, to find somewhere long-term to live and get everything organised for living my life permanently here.

In 2011, I would like my word of the year to be Contentment.  I want to feel settled and at home in my new host country and just generally be content with where my life is at and where it is heading.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to One Word #reverb10

  1. Kandice says:

    love the words and I am sending lots of energy for 2011 to be one of contentment!!!

  2. That’s a lot of eventful, Riayn! Here’s to a year of contentment as big and wide as the eventful was!

    Yea for the medals – great way to use that anger! (love that you didn’t ignore it, squish it down!!).

  3. Hey, I guess “eventful” is better than “boring” :-)

    I wish lots of contentment for you in 2011. I know many Americans who have lived in Germany and loved it!

    • Riayn says:

      *laugh* I definitely can’t say that this year has been boring. However, I do hope next year is less full of the unpleasant eventful things that have occurred this year.

  4. mynde says:

    acknowledging your big big 2010 changes. and here’s to the silver lining of contentment in all that change for your 2011. \o/

  5. Jen says:

    I wish you all the contentment you can handle, and more! :-)

  6. Rach says:

    That’s an excellent word for next year – good luck :)

  7. Karen Sharp says:

    My best to you, and my best to your 2011 rich in contentment.

  8. Eventful – WOW!! IS that ever!! Eventful and adventurous :D you GO girl! Contentment is but a dream away :) I’m excited for you and what 2011 has in store for fresh beginnings and brand new starts. Tia #reverb10

  9. Jillian says:

    Yes, that is QUITE a bit of drama! Yikes. Well, you know, it sounds like everything got stirred up in your life, which I hope will be good in the long run. All that stale energy sitting around your life is certainly refreshed and perked up. I would be willing to bet that by the end of 2011, you’ll have an even better word than contentment! Whenever someone has so much drama and change, I think good things are bound to follow. So, I guess that’s my new years toast to you. ;)

  10. Pingback: One Word #reverb11 | Counting Time

What are you thinking?

