Writing #reverb10

Writing samples: Parker 75
Image by churl via Flickr

Prompt: Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it?

I was really struggling with today’s prompt as I don’t consider myself a writer.  I just have this little blog, but it’s nothing big, nothing important.  Just a record of my thoughts and experiences, a way to keep in touch with people. Therefore, I don’t approach blogging as I would a job or a serious hobby.  I just jot down my thoughts, read it over, do a little editing and hit publish.  Therefore, I couldn’t think of anything that needs to be eliminated from my day that would help with my blogging.  Then, I read Matt’s post for today on his awesomely named blog Life Without Pants and I had a light-bulb moment.  There are many times when I don’t blog at all cause I think what I have to say is unimportant or uninteresting or I worry about people’s reaction to it.  I basically censor myself.  I worry too much about people’s reactions to what I say and do that it even affects my blogging. I need to let go of needing people’s approval and acceptance and learn to accept that not everyone is going to like me or my opinions.  I’m going to offend people now and again and as long as I don’t do it from a place of hate and spite, I need to learn to be okay with this.

Therefore, it is my own insecurities that I need to eliminate from my day, not only to make me a better blogger, but to make me a better person as well.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writing #reverb10

  1. wodenhausen says:

    Very well put! Don’t censor yourself, I love reading your blog…and to be honest, the little “tid-bits” of life that probably don’t seem particularly exciting to you to write are usually the ones that I enjoy reading the most.

  2. Stereo says:

    THIS. In so many ways, THIS.

    It’s exactly the kind of thing I struggle with daily when it comes to blogging and writing in general and it’s something I definitely think that we need to conquer in 2011.

  3. Jen says:

    Funny, I’ve had this very thing on my mind today, too. Great post! I tend to also struggle with self-doubt about what I write, etc. etc. Today I was miffed that some people out there in the blogosphere think THEY can dictate what is interesting or not from other blogs. So I’ve been thinking, too, who cares. I just write what I write, it’s for ME and if someone else doesn’t like it they don’t have to read it. Period.

  4. Bethlin says:

    I have a feeling quite a few of the reverb10 posts today will be verrrrrrry similar. This is what I tried to convey as well.

  5. Jillian says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one dealing with the problem with this prompt! Yeah, same for me, it seems like the prompt was geared towards professional writers. Though, obviously, we do write, so there must be some nugget of goodness for us. I’m glad you found yours. Every voice matters.

  6. Kellianne says:

    This is awesome. FOR ME, the internet is a tool we could all use to help us live in the most authentic way possible. Often, this means just saying what we mean, and meaning what we say, and being totally honest about who we are, insecurities and all.

  7. Riayn says:

    It is so interesting to see how many of us have doubts about what we write and almost a sense of fear about it. I wonder what we would all be able to accomplish if we were able to remove that doubt and fear from our lives.

What are you thinking?

