Moment #reverb10

Prompt: Moment. Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors).

It was three weeks post break-up when I was in Köln and just finished competing in the Gay Games.  I was still full of anger and hurt at the way my relationship had ended (but not the fact that it had) when I decided to climb the 509 steps to the top of the Dom.  As I made my way up the stairs and my legs got sorer and sorer, I thought about all that had happened and how now I had a chance to begin a brand new life and rediscover myself.  When I reached the top I felt freer than I have ever felt. I was full of hope with what my new life might hold and for the first time in months, I was truly happy.

I took a photo of myself when I reached the top and even though I hate photos of myself, I like this blurry one because I look so happy.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Moment #reverb10

  1. Stereo says:

    Your smile says it all. You look radiant.

  2. You look even more than just happy – you’re exuberant!

  3. Laura says:

    Exuberant totally describes that look on your face
    (and you’ve earned it, too) :)

  4. Riayn says:

    Thanks guys. You are all totally right, I was on top of the world that day both literally and figuratively.

  5. Jen says:

    It’s good to see you! :-)

  6. Marjory says:

    Riayn,
    What a magical moment to opened you to new possibilities. “I was full of hope with what my new life might hold.”
    Many blessings on your path!

  7. Mandi says:

    Wow, how great is that. And you look absolutely full of joy!

What are you thinking?

