Visa Day

My visa was issued today.  I can now officially stay and work in Germany for the next 3 years! I can’t describe the relief I felt when those two pieces of paper were stapled into my passport, without them I would be on a plane to Sydney on Christmas Eve.

I can now relax and stop worrying that I will be forced to leave and can finally start to organise my life here in Germany – getting a bank account, mobile phone contract and most importantly a place to live. It is honestly the best Christmas present ever.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Visa Day

  1. wodenhausen says:

    Congratulations!!! I know that must be a huge worry off of your mind. So now relax and thoroughly enjoy the seaon. Hope you have big plans for New Year’s Eve. :)

  2. Hooray! That is such a relief, I remember the day mine came. Now my 5 years are almost up and I have to apply for residency soon… I’ll be stressed out all over again!

  3. Barbara says:

    Congrats! After 10 years in the UK, I made myself apply for British Citizenship this year so I now have dual nationality, French and British: it is so exciting when things become official!

  4. Jen says:

    What a huge relief! Now you can really start settling into life here.

  5. Stereo says:

    Congratulations again! This must be a huge relief for you!

  6. Klaus says:

    That is just great, congratulations! Now I hope you can have a really nice German Christmas Eve somewhere.

    One year from now, you will be able to write posts like this in German, no doubt about it.

  7. Mandi says:

    Fantastic news! What a great Christmas present!

  8. Awesome! I’m glad this will be one less thing for you to worry about!

  9. Karita says:

    Yay! Great news. :D

What are you thinking?

