Ice Skating

Last night I did something that I have wanted to do for years – go ice skating at an outdoor rink in the middle of winter.

Ice skating rink at Planten un Blomen

I have never ice skated before, so getting out on the ice surrounded by so many experienced skaters was a little nerve wracking.  Ok, I was terrified.  Fortunately, I had a wonderful teacher Claire who held my hand and said many encouraging things and Lee who brought us much needed glühwein from which I learnt that I skate much better after consuming alcohol.

After 30 minutes of sheer terror, I was able to skate by myself in the middle of the rink! Also I didn’t fall over, not even once, although there was a lot of near misses.  I learnt the key to ice skating is to keep your knees bent and also the faster you go, the easier it is. I found that when I slowed down, I started to lose my balance.

We spent about 90 minutes out on the ice in -8C and snowing until we became too tired and cold to continue.  It was a fantastic experience and I really want to go ice skating again.

 

Evidence that I was skating without holding onto the rails. Taken before I overcame my fear.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ice Skating

  1. tqe | Adam says:

    Congratulations!

    I haven’t been ice skating in years… I should do it this winter.

  2. wodenhausen says:

    Oh, I’m so jealous! Sounds like great fun…don’t think any of the water around here has frozen enough to allow for skating but I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Congrats on getting out there and trying! Maybe you’re a natural???

    • Riayn says:

      This was a man-made outdoor ice skating rink. We are still all waiting for the Alster to freeze enough to skate on.
      I very much doubt I’m a natural. I think it was more like beginner’s luck. :)

  3. Pingback: Six Months On | Counting Time

What are you thinking?

