Ein Frohes Neues Jahr!

Once again I am thankful for such wonderful friends who have included me in their lives and invited me around for a house party to celebrate the end of 2010 and the beginning of 2011.  It was a fantastic night that culminated in standing out in the street setting off fireworks and drinking Sekt as we welcomed in 2011.  I completely underestimated the passion that Germans of all ages have for fireworks.  People started letting them off at 4:30pm and it continued until about 5am this morning. Madness, pure madness and yet it was the most real New Year’s celebration I have seen.  People standing in the street, toasting the New Year and creating their own fireworks display in the freezing cold.

New Year's in Neustadt

Fireworks Display care of the people 20m up the street who had an arsenal of fireworks

I consumed more alcohol than I probably should have – 2 vodka and cokes, 1 rum and coke, a glass of Sekt to toast the New Year, a shot of unknown but incredibly strong alcohol (what the hell was that stuff?) and a vodka jelly shot.  I’m paying for it this morning.

I happily stumbled home around 3:30am and felt like such a lightweight when I saw a couple in their 70s doing the same thing.  I hope when I’m that age, I’m still stumbling home from a great night of celebration with good friends at 3:30am.

2010, there was much about you that really sucked but you have changed my life forever. 2011, I can’t wait to see what you have in store for me.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ein Frohes Neues Jahr!

  1. Jen says:

    New year’s in Germany is definitely explosively fun. Wishing you all the best for this year!

  2. Mandi says:

    The fireworks here are totally crazy. Glad you had a great slide into the new year! Happy 2011!

What are you thinking?

