Map of Tasmania

There are very few Australian euphemisms that I actually like, but Map of Tasmania is one of them.  It is just so fitting.

So, what is a map of Tasmania? I could explain it to you, but I would rather show you this awesome music video by punk cabaret goddess Amanda Palmer

Warning: This video is not safe for work or for viewing with small children in the room.  Watch it at home after the kids are in the bed. It also contains strong language, if you think fuck is strong language and the most merkins I have ever seen in one place.

I’m so jealous of all my Australian based friends who get to see Amanda Palmer on her Down Under tour.  I am extremely insanely jealous of my Sydney based friends who not only get to see her at the Opera House, but with Neil Gaiman as well.  Neil Gaiman is one of those rare people who I would pay to hear read the phone book.  He is such a fantastic narrator and storyteller.  I went to a book reading of his and I felt like I was a five year sitting on the carpet completely mesmerised and wanting to beg for just one chapter more. Of course, one can’t really beg their favourite writer to read them just one more chapter without coming off as rather peculiar.  So Sydney based friends, I demand a full account of the Opera House gig.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Map of Tasmania

  1. Beet says:

    that is awesome lmao

  2. Norton says:

    Brilliant!

    Thank you, made me LOL.

    Kind greetings, Norton

  3. Hurray for Neil Gaimon and Amanda Palmer. Screw Brad and Angelina, they are the best celebrity couple of all time. You have a favorite of all his lovely works?

    • Riayn says:

      My favourite of Neil Gaiman’s works is probably Neverwhere. Stardust is also really good. The only one I found hard going was American Gods even though I did enjoy, it just wasn’t easy reading.

  4. Frau Dietz says:

    Hello, I’ve just arrived here via Resident on Earth’s blog… and this video has made my DAY. Never heard of this lady nor seen so many ruddy amazing merkins in me life. THANK YOU. Brilliant.

    • Riayn says:

      Glad you enjoyed it so much. :) If you are interested in her other stuff just type Amanda Palmer or Dresden Dolls into You Tube. Many fantastic tunes there.

What are you thinking?

