The LARP Con Language Challenge

LARP

Image via Wikipedia

LARP stands for Live Action Roleplaying.  It is basically Dungeons & Dragons on acid and is the highest form of gaming nerdom possible.  Instead of sitting around describing what your character does as you do in D&D, you spend a weekend out in the middle of the forest as your character, doing everything your character does.  If your character fights, you fight (yay, weapons!). If your character launches a daring raid on an enemy camp, then you go and actually raid the enemy camp. I’ve always thought that it would be kinda fun and insanely geeky to go and do a LARP.

My workmate Neal and I quickly established when I first arrived that we were both gamers and he is a mad keen LARPer.  One thing lead to another and I have been invited to join him at a LARP Con on the first weekend in June.  There’s only one catch, the LARP is run in German (obviously, considering where we live). Therefore I have only four months to get my German up to a conversational level, enough to be able to LARP.  My character will be a foreigner which will give me a perfect excuse not to be able to speak German well (it would be stupid to play a character from the country the LARP is based in when I barely speak the language), but to get the maximum enjoyment out of it all and not to annoy Neal all weekend, I want to be able to speak German as well as I possibly can. Hence the LARP Con Language Challenge.

All suggestions about how I can fast track my German language learning will be gratefully accepted. I will be heading back to the Bibliothek to get out more children’s picture books and DVDs and trying to speak as much German as I possibly can, but I feel this requires more and I’m not 100% sure how to go about it.

The thought that I must be absolutely insane to do this has crossed my mind more than once.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The LARP Con Language Challenge

  1. Beaker says:

    I still can’t recommend the Rosetta Stone software highly enough Meg, it’s very, very different to learning in a class, and it will teach you how to express and explain situations with only a few hours invested… it’s a little pricy… but maybe you can find a free, erm… trial download… or, erm… something? (My brother started learning Russian with it this morning?!)

  2. Jen says:

    This is an AWESOME way to provide motivation to learn a language! Is there a specific vocabulary for D&D that you can learn, or is it more generic?

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention The LARP Con Language Challenge | Counting Time -- Topsy.com

  4. Nicolette says:

    Ooooo that sounds pretty damn amazing. I’ve never played D&D, but I think I would love LARP, being the sci fi and fantasty adventure geek that I am. Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

  5. Mandi says:

    Maybe you can find a tandem-Sprachpartner (if you haven’t already), where you sit down for a designated amount of time (maybe an hour) every other week or so purely to concentrate on conversation? You could choose to focus the conversation around whatever you want — maybe even discussing gaming or something like that. In any case, sounds like a great source of motivation for learning!

  6. Chico Gringo Segundo says:

    The answer is yes, this is absolutely possible, absolutely probable, and absolutely certain,
    to be the best way to learn. It is called dual immersion, and is performed exactly like larping.
    Larping is DUALISM, AND IMMERSION, AND TYHEREFORE IS TH EXACT SAME METHOD
    OF PERCEPTION NEEDED FOR THIS EFFORT. I have already did t his(english/spanish dual
    immersion dual parallellism larp. Parallellism, simply means , for the things you are learning about
    the real world, you should parallell to what you already know about the real world ,in your own
    language. You see, the knowledge you already possess, is the answers, all you have to do is figure out the words for the questions. TIP: all language in the world comes in four parts. These are always in two pair (VISUAL-SILENT/INVISIBLE-NOISY).
    THEREFORE ALL LANGUAGE COMBINED, FITS INTO THESE TWO PAIR. Therefore you are
    already fluent in (reading-writing/listening speaking) So only the names of for what you already
    know needs to be leaned. This is easily did. it is a light reflection thing. You see, you simply have to look in the same places for the signs . They are already posted as labels right where you need to look.
    Man has a need to label everything. You will not find the name for Bakery on a courthouse, and a
    garage, w ill never say shoes.

What are you thinking?

