Dreaming of German Grammar

My German class has finally reached learning about one of the pain points of German grammar – Accusative, Nominative and Dative pronouns.  These seriously are screwing with my mind.  I can not get my head around them, probably because I never understood them in English grammar.  I foresee some quality time being spent with a grammar textbook in my very near future.

Last night in class we struggled with dative pronouns using them in conjunction with in, auf and an for masculine, feminine and neutral nouns and then putting them in sentences. I came home, I did my homework on the same subject and went wearily to bed with my brain totally confused.

Therefore, it probably should have come to no surprise that I began dreaming of constructing dative pronouns, but what was most annoying was that my brain also decided to give me a very rare romantic dream at the same time.  So there I was in my dream with an amazingly gorgeous woman who is wanting to move on to more interesting activities but I am constructing sentences using dative pronouns and asking her if I got them right instead.

I woke up seriously pissed off with my subconscious, but I think I may have finally got the pattern of dative pronouns down. I wonder if this gorgeous woman will turn up in my dreams again to teach me about when something is accusative, nominative or dative.  I might forgive my subconscious if it could finally make me understand that.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dreaming of German Grammar

  1. Jen says:

    Ha!!! Love the dream. I’ve had some grammar dreams, too. Pronouns have been hard for me as well – one thing that’s really helped is this book called “Practice Makes Perfect: Pronouns and Prepositions.” It breaks things down into small units and then you do all kinds of exercises. Somehow for me, it’s really worked!

  2. Rah says:

    I think your subconscious knows how to make you pay attention ;) Gorgeous teacher, ftw!

  3. Love the comment from Rah. :) I have to admit I’ve not started dreaming in Deutsch but I have mixed up words a few times…little things like mit for with and and immer for always…it’s pretty embarassing when my daughter catches me but at least our brains are subconsciously picking things up!

  4. scottsabode says:

    Dative pronouns? Oh my!

  5. Kim says:

    I have never thought of grammar in this way before. Maybe that’s why I still struggle with French?

  6. Pingback: English is so annoying | Jaye Em Edgecliff

What are you thinking?

