Making A Connection

In my last post, The Expat in the Photo, I was bemoaning my inability to feel a sense of connection to people here in Hamburg. What I realised this weekend, is that I have actually started to make connections here but completely failed to realise this.  In other words, I’m an idiot.

I spent Saturday night and most of today (Sunday) at my friend Sonia’s house just outside of Hamburg surrounded by my wonderful friends from my Improv group enjoying a home-cooked meal, bottles of wine and fantastic conversation. It is something I’ve really missed.  It was so simple, so ordinary, nothing grand or exciting but it gave me a real sense of home.  It was exactly what I was longing for.  I think Tessa put it best last night when she said that it felt like a sense of community.  All of us are either expats (short and long term) or have spent part of our lives living in a foreign country and I think that plus our love of theatre binds us together in a patchwork quilt kinda way.  Our ages are diverse – there is over 20 years from the youngest of us to the oldest, but that melts away and becomes irrelevant only to be realised once again when someone mentions birthdays and then quickly forgotten once more.

We have talked about having home-cooked dinners together more often cause we all had a wonderful night plus we are going to try our hand at the English speaking pub trivia which takes place on Thursday nights.

It feels good to start making connections and to find a sense of belonging.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making A Connection

  1. Jen says:

    Awesome! That is so great!

  2. Mandi says:

    Yay! And I hope it works out the the pub trivia, I never did it in Hamburg, but I go almost weekly here in Bremen and it’s lots of fun!

    P.S. Wishing you a speedy recovery.

What are you thinking?

