A Love Letter To Hamburg

Flag of the city Hamburg.

Image via Wikipedia

Question from San:

What do you like and what do you hate about your life in Germany and how is it different from your home country?

Dear Hamburg,

Ich liebe dich! I love your tree lined streets and your many green open spaces. I don’t think I’ve been in a city that is so green.  I simply adore your public transport system – the fact that the trains come so regularly (every 3 minutes during peak time) and that I can get to wherever I need to in the city in less than 30 minutes.  Not only is it fast and efficient but so cheap, I pay here a month what I paid in Sydney per week. I do apologise for whining and bitching when getting a train after midnight and I need to wait 10 minutes compared to Sydney where during peak hours I had to wait over 20 minutes, but you spoil me so.

I love how cheap everything here is compared to Australia – food, household items, books – everything. I feel I have some hope of saving money, if I don’t spend it all on books that is. I’m loving meeting people from a variety of backgrounds and sharing the expat journey with them.  I love sitting in pubs surrounded by my new friends and laughing so hard that everything hurts.

The only thing I don’t love about you is your language.  I knew it would be frustrating living in a country where I don’t speak the language but I don’t think you can ever be prepared for exactly how frustrating it is.  I’m used to being able to communicate so effortless and now it is a huge achievement if I can order my lunch. The German language confuses and confounds me and we need to have a talk about the ridiculously long words you insist on making. Yes, Krankenversicherungskarte I’m looking at you, in a normal language you would be three words not one gigantic tongue twisting one. However, because I love you, I will persevere as I know I said when we first met that I really wanted to learn a second language.  I will take comfort from the others in my German class who are in the exactly same position and enjoy dissolving into laughter with them when we come across yet another huge word that none of us can pronounce.

This may be the flush blush of romance talking and maybe in a year’s time I will feel differently about you.  However, for now, Hamburg, I’m so glad we have meet and are sharing our lives together.

Love,

Me.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Love Letter To Hamburg

  1. genevieve says:

    Lovely post Meg :)

  2. San says:

    Ha, that was great… especially loved the part about our long “compound words” :) Just think of them as single words that are just spelled as one… because you’ll realize: German has a lot less vocabulary, because we use compound words a lot in lieu of a completely different word :)
    (e.g. wardrobe = Kleiderschrank = clothes closet! Ha!)

What are you thinking?

