Food Glorious Food

Pork with cream mushroom sauce & spätzle

Question from Texasborncologne:

Do you have a favorite food you’ve found since moving here?  A most hated??

Before I was born, my parents did the expat thing, living and working in both England and Switzerland.  So as a kid, I ate a lot of Germanic foods as my father loved to cook food from Switzerland and we also made trips back to Switzerland to visit friends.  Therefore coming to Germany, I didn’t find the food here that much different to what I ate growing up.

However, there are of course regional differences in food and I have discovered that here in Northern Germany. I have come to adore Franzbrötchen – a cinnamon croissant like scroll that is only found around the Hamburg area. However, I have to be careful not to eat too many.

 

From Academic -de.acaemdic.ru

And then of course there is wurst, lots of various types of wurst, my most favourite being bratwurst.

Bratwurst

Then there is the famous German chocolate, which is almost singlehandedly responsible for me going up a belt buckle.  In particular, this chocolate which is dubbed Taste Orgasim Chocolate in my household.

 

Milks Chocolate Mousse a l'Orange by like the grand canyon

The one German food I just simply can’t develop a love for is Köhl with a particular dislike for Rotköhl.  I’m sorry but I just can’t do pickled cabbage. I really have tried, trust me, but Köhl and I are never going to be friends.

I’m sure there is still a whole smorgasbord of Northern German food, I’ve yet to try and I hope that I find them more like Franzbrötchen then Rotköhl.

If you want to ask me any questions that I can turn into a blog post (& I’m loving doing this), please ask me here.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food Glorious Food

  1. Frau Dietz says:

    Is it wrong that I’m salivating over pork with cream mushroom sauce and Spätzle at this time in the morning? I mean, I am literally dribbling.

  2. emma says:

    God, I LOVE spatzle. And anything with poppyseeds. I blame my years in Germany and Czechoslovakia/Czech Republic. Happily.

  3. Susan says:

    Ok, now I want some of that orange mousse chocolate…damn you!

    S.

What are you thinking?

