Revisiting The Follies Of Youth

Last night was supposed to be a quiet night.  Just drinks with friends to celebrate Tessa’s birthday.  I didn’t expect to end up on the Reeperbahn, Hamburg’s red light and party district at 3am.  Nor did I expect to find myself in a jazz club with bright pink wallpaper doing shots of Jagermeister at 4am.  Or walking home from the station at 5am in the fog with the birds tweeting loudly.  But I did.

This afternoon as I sit quietly on the couch trying not to move, I remember why it has been over 10 years since I have had a night out on the town drinking.  I’m too old for this shit.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Revisiting The Follies Of Youth

  1. fraudietz says:

    Hahaha thank you, brilliant, this really made me laugh. I had much the same thought process the morning after Saturday night at Karneval when I woke up without my favourite coat after drinking (yes, Jagermeister) and dancing to Flashdance in a student bar till 4am. Seriously. Too old for this shit.

    • Riayn says:

      Why do we do this to ourselves?? :)

      • fraudietz says:

        I really have no idea. It is fun, but it causes so much pain ;) All I can say is… (a) it’s lucky you did that last night, not tonight, because you KNOW it’s going to take you two days to recover, and (b) you need a boiled egg, a glass of fruit juice …and a very strong Bloody Mary. Chin chin! :)

  2. I agree, funny post and sadly we’ve all been there, haven’t we? Although I try to stay away from Jägermeister if I can help it. The really sad part is that it inevitably happens again. :)

What are you thinking?

