Six Months On

Winter in Stadtpark

Six months ago I arrived in Hamburg with just a suitcase.  I didn’t know a single person here.  I was an emotional wreck, still reeling from the end of a 10 year relationship. I was underweight from hardly eating in the 2 months before my move. I barely knew a word of German other than my numbers and how to say hello and thank you.

So much has changed in six months. I now have a wonderful circle of friends and great workmates. My social life at times is somewhat crazy, but I really wouldn’t have it any other way.  I have a fantastic apartment that I feel very much at home in with many ideas swirling around in my head about how to make it even more homely. I have found within myself a sense of inner peace that I can’t remember ever feeling. I’m eating properly, in fact a little too properly and will have to get my butt into some exercise asap. I’m slowly learning German with much more misses than hits but it is a process that I never thought I would get so much intellectual satisfaction from, despite my rants about German grammar.  I have experienced so many unique experiences from dealing with snow and ice on a daily basis, a white Christmas!, drinking glühwein at the Weihnachtsmarkts, learning how to recycle the German way, being able to get to London in under 2 hours to ice skating on an outdoor rink whilst it snowed and many more.

I’m so thankful that I’ve been granted an opportunity to live in an overseas country, especially in a city as great as Hamburg. At this point in time, I have no plans to leave, I’m enjoying life here too much to consider living anywhere else. Will I stay here long-term? Who knows, but if life stays as good as it has been, I will be very tempted to.  I’m looking forward to what the next 6 months have in store (summer!) leading up to my one year anniversary. Bring on the adventure!

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Six Months On

  1. fraudietz says:

    Congratulations!! It is so wonderful to hear that being in Germany is making you happy… it’s making ME happy too :)

  2. What a great post to start the weekend with! I’m glad you’re doing well and this post sounds extremely happy. Congrats on the first six months and I hope the next six months are even better. :)

  3. Dixie says:

    The first year can be so hard but you seem to have jumped in with both feet and it’s served you well. Hope things only get better and better!

  4. San says:

    This is so wonderful to hear how good you feel living in Germany. That makes me really happy :)

  5. Mandi says:

    Yay! Happy 6-month anniversary!

What are you thinking?

