Sleepless Nights and Tired Mornings

Last week, I went to see the doctor for the first time in Germany to get repeats of my long term medication. They have my anti-seizure medication available in Germany but they don’t have the medication that tells my brain it’s time for sleep. Therefore they took it away as they had no idea what to replace it with.  It was hoped that my anti-seizure meds would make me drowsy enough to be able to sleep… but alas, no.

I have been bouncing off the walls when I should be asleep, then finally falling asleep for a couple of hours only to wake up at 4am to bounce off the walls for another hour or so before crashing out again and getting a tiny bit more precious sleep before my alarm goes off.  It’s just not on. My serotonin cycle, it seems, is really screwed up without my meds.

I have 26 magic sleep inducing pills left. My doctor wants me to come in for blood tests in a couple of weeks, so I’m hoping that they will feel after that more willing to find a new medication for me once they know what my body is up to.  I don’t know if I can go back to a life of not being able to sleep properly.

I’m wondering if melatonin tablets might do the trick, but don’t know if they are okay to use daily over a long period of time.  A question to ask my doctor.

On the plus side, my anti seizure meds which in Australia cost about $200 for 100 tablets, only cost €10 for the same amount here in Germany.  You have no idea how happy that makes my bank balance or how shocked I was when told the price.  I’m sure the Apotheker got a good laugh out of my facial expression.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sleepless Nights and Tired Mornings

  1. That is one I really like about German. Its health care system is really, really good when it is compared to the Australian health system. Our kids’ prescription is free, courtesy of the statutory medical insurance. This is so much better than Medicare.

    • Riayn says:

      I’m loving how cheap everything is compared to the Australian system. Only €10 per quarter to see the doctor as many times as you need to and the most expensive your prescription is is also €10.

      • Klaus says:

        You have no idea about the level of public resentment when the 10 EUR Praxisgebühr per quarter was introduced in 2004. I guess it all depends on the perspective…

What are you thinking?

