Better Living Through Chemistry

I took one of my magic sleep inducing pills last night and had the best night’s sleep I’ve had in the past 6 days.  My mind was pleasantly drowsy rather than whizzing around with a million ideas.  It’s so nice to be able to drift off to sleep without your brain fighting you every step of the way.

I still woke up at 4am though (what is up with that? Seriously 4am on the dot for the past 7 nights) but was able to get back to sleep much more quickly than previously.

Of course, being the skeptic that I am, I was wondering if the chemicals in the tablet don’t really anything but it’s more the act of taking the tablet and thinking it will help that does the trick -the dreaded placebo effect.  However, after having a good night’s sleep compared to the past week when I haven’t taken my medication, I don’t give a crap if it is the placebo effect or not, I just want my sleep!

Unfortunately, I can’t get my doctor in Australia to write a prescription and my parents send over the medication as medication is banned from being sent in the post to Germany. Therefore, I will head back to the doctor probably next week (bleh!), get my blood tests done and beg them to find an alternative that’s available in Germany (there has to be something).  I need my sleep!

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?

