A Conversation With The Florist

A close-up of some lavender in the Netherlands

Image via Wikipedia

I went to buy some flowers today to plant in the flower box on my balcony (I will post photos later) and I had my first real conversation with a complete stranger where I understood everything that was being said.

I was buying some Primroses and really wanted to also buy some Lavender  but couldn’t see any so I asked the lady if she had any. She told me that it was too early for Lavender and there wouldn’t be any available until mid-May.  I explained to her that I was from Australia where Lavender was available all year round and she told me that I was lucky to have come from such a wonderful climate.  I then paid for my flowers and wished her a good weekend.

So it was a rather basic conversation but I was able to ask for something I was looking for and able to not only understand the response but have a short conversation about it.  I was SO excited! Maybe there’s hope for me learning to speak German after all.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Conversation With The Florist

  1. Dixie says:

    Oh yay for you! That must have felt so thrilling and so satisfying to have made that little accomplishment! Can’t wait to see your purchases.

    • Riayn says:

      I am ridiculously pleased with myself for being able to have such a simple conversation in German, even now hours later. However, with one step forward usually comes two gigantic steps back, so I am now preparing myself for a major conversation fail.

  2. Awesome! Good job! :)

  3. Invader_Stu says:

    It’s always nice when you are able to have a whole conversation like that.

  4. Frau Dietz says:

    That’s not a basic conversation, that’s amazing!!! :)

    • Riayn says:

      Why, thank you. :) Unfortunately, my German is just so hit and miss. I can have a full conversation without any problems and then the next conversation is an absolute disaster.

What are you thinking?

