Freshly Tattooed

This evening, I went and got my birthday present to myself done – a new tattoo.

I wish I had a story for you about how painful it was and how I stoically sat there and endured it, because I’m awesome like that, but to be honest, it didn’t hurt at all.  In fact it actually tickled.  I’m not sure what that says about me if I find a needle being punched into my skin hundreds of times ticklish.  Best leave that alone.

So I present my new tattoo.  So new it still has its wrapping on.

My apologises for the crappy photo but it was taken with my phone camera held in my left hand (tattoo is on my upper right arm).  I promise to upload a better photo once it has all healed.

For the next three days I have to keep it wrapped in gladwrap/clingwrap/Frischhaltefolie and apply Bepanthen cream on it twice daily. Then need to go back to Freie Manufaktur in 5 weeks to make sure it has healed properly and doesn’t need a retouch. I had forgotten how much care a brand new tattoo needs.

I had also forgotten how addictive getting tattoos are – I now have my fourth tattoo planned. Maybe it can be next year’s birthday present to myself.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Freshly Tattooed

  1. Heronymus says:

    Awesome! Congrats on the new ink.

  2. Riayn says:

    My tattooist spoke English. I would not have gotten it done if that wasn’t the case as with tattoos you need to get things right. :)

  3. Mitsu, or “three”. Has this any significance?

  4. Frau Dietz says:

    Can’t wait to see it unclingfilmed – it looks awesome :)

  5. Mandi says:

    Cool! Hope it heals fast and doesn’t itch too much. :)

  6. Nice! Don’t believe I’ve ever heard someone describe getting a tattoo as “tickling”!

  7. shoegirl says:

    Congrats! I’ve been wanting to get another tatoo (I already have two), but have been rather terrified at the prospect of someone not fully understanding what I’d like permanently inked into my flesh. You’ve inspired some confidence in me that this is possible here!

    • Riayn says:

      That was my fear as well, so I was so happy to find a tattooist that spoke English, in fact most of them at the shop did. Hopefully you will be able to find one where you are.

What are you thinking?

