A Letter Home in German

2008.11.12 - The letterphoto © 2008 Adrian Clark | more info (via: Wylio)My German homework this weekend was to write a letter home telling the recipient what you did in March.

Here is my letter.  There are probably heaps of grammatical errors, especially since I never know if something is accusative or nominative, but I was so astounded that I was able to write a letter in German, with lots of consultation with my German dictionary of course, that I wanted to put it on my blog.

Liebe Mutter,

Wir geht’s dir? Ich hoffe du bist gesund.

März hat eine beschäfligt Monat gewesen. Ich hatte mein Geburtstag. Vielen Danke für dein Geschenk. Ich habe mehr Vegemite gebraucht. Am siebzehnten März war St Patrick’s Tag und mein Theatergruppe hatte eine Feier mit vielen irschen Lieder gespielt.

Letzte Wochenende war so warm, so ich habe mein neu Balkon Garten gepflanzt. Er sieht so schön und bunt. Hamburg ist so schön mit Frühlingsanfang.

Ich freue mich auf deinen Besuch in Mai.

Bis bald und herzlich Grüße,

Meg

What it is supposed to say for those of you who can’t read German or for those of you who can’t understand my appalling German.

Dear Mother,

How are you? I hope you are healthy.

March has been a busy month.  I had my birthday.  Many thanks for your gift. I needed more Vegemite. On the 17th March was St Partrick’s Day and my theatre group had a party with many Irish songs played.

Last weekend was so warm so I planted my new balcony garden. It looks so beautiful and colourful. Hamburg is so beautiful with the beginning of spring.

I look forward to your visit in May.

See you soon and warm greetings,

Meg

You really don’t want to know how long it took to write this simple letter in German (about an hour). I long for the day when writing in German becomes almost as easy as writing in English. I think that will happen in about 5 – 10 years, if ever.

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Letter Home in German

  1. san says:

    You did a good job. Writing letters is actually a really good way to practice. Can’t you find a German penpal?

  2. scottsabode says:

    I’m impressed. I studied German up to Year 11 at school and part of the exam was to write a conversation between two people. Basically it consisted of a person being told they have won Lotto: I can’t believe it! Ten million marks? Yes! Ten million marks! Well, what will I buy with ten million marks? I will buy…you get the idea.

  3. Nice job…I could completely understand what you wrote. If you ever want to practice writing German, let me know!

  4. shoegirl says:

    I had a conversation with a French woman who works in a Belgiam cafe here and she said she’d been here almost 10 years and still struggled with the language from time to time. On one hand, this made my 1-1/2 years of speaking crap German seem not so bad, but the idea of still stumbling like this a decade from now seems unbearable.

    • Riayn says:

      I think (and I hope) that if you speak German more you will learn faster and struggle less, then if you barely speak German on a daily basis.
      However, like you, I still fear that 10 years from now I will still be struggling with German.

What are you thinking?

