The Frühlingsdom

Three times a year the Volksfest (Fair) known as the Hamburger Dom descends on Hamburg.  This time around it was the Frühlingsdom or Spring Dom.  I hadn’t yet had the opportunity to check out the Dom so I eagerly accepted Claire’s invitation to join her on visiting the Dom last Friday.

I was pleasantly surprised to find the Hamburger Dom was nowhere near as commercial as Sydney Royal Easter Show that charges you an admission price plus charges you for rides you want to go on and charges a fortune for food and drinks.  Instead the Dom has free entry, normal priced food and drinks and rides were about €2-3 each.

I had such a great evening wandering around the Dom, practicing my bad German on poor Claire, going on rides that spun us around and upside down, eating Schmalzkuchen and watching the Fireworks.  I’m definitely going to make sure I get myself along to the Sommerdom.

Pirate Funhouse

Spinning Around

View down one of the alleys

Spinning You Upside Down

Down one of the other alleys

Traditional Food Stall

Another traditional food stall

Gingerbread Hearts

More photos can be found here.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Expat and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Frühlingsdom

  1. I absolutely love that kind of thing but unfortunately my wife gets motion sickness. Damn!

  2. Frau Dietz says:

    That looks like so much fun. I thought we had an Easter fair in town last weekend but it turned out to be a sewing machine and car fair. Slightly disappointing – apart from the randomness of the combination!

  3. scottsabode says:

    Great fun – the food looks terrific!

  4. Jen says:

    Woooooo looks like fun!

  5. shoegirl says:

    I’ve always been terrified of these carnivals (I blame a horrific article I read as a child in my grandmother’s Readers Digest about people being killed from various rides and fair attractions), but I would assume Germans insist on stricter regulations in terms of safety. It certainly looks a lot nicer than these things in the states – and not nearly as creepy!

  6. Anne says:

    Great pictures. Wishing you many great new adventures – spring and summer are delightful in Germany!

What are you thinking?

