Racism is never OK

Go and read this post by Stereo to get a first hand account of what it is like to be a gorgeous Nigerian woman living in the UK.  The treatment that she and her family have had to endure is not OK. It must never be tolerated. I’m ashamed to say that racism exists in my family, as does homophobia. In my immediate family, the worst offender is my mother, who on her visit to Hamburg told me that our home town now ‘has a lot of dark people living there’. My response was to reply ‘I think you mean Somalians and that’s cool.’ But it didn’t feel like it was enough. It won’t stop my mother from making those sorts of comments again.

It is not cool, funny, witty or however you try to phrase it to make it sound okay to make negative comments about someone’s skin colour, eye shape or hair type. These things do not define the person so why try to make them to? If you have a problem with the actions of a person, then bitch about that action not about their skin colour.

And yes, I still think a couple of white guys doing an impression of Chinese eyes on a poster is fucking racist no matter how funny the political wit of their stage show supposedly is.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?

