Proving A Point To Myself

I began my running program three weeks ago.  Initially, I went for a walk/run for a total of 30 mins, running for as long as I felt I could and walking for the rest.  A week ago, I got motivated to do distance run/walks – 3.7km/1.86miles as a short run and 5.7km/3.54miles as a long run. This morning was raining and generally unpleasant, but I wanted to prove something to myself, I wanted to see if I could run for 3km. In fact, I didn’t know it was 3km at the time, I just wanted to run from where the allotment started and do the whole loop back to my starting point without stopping and without walking.

I won’t kid you, it wasn’t easy and it wasn’t pretty, but I struggled through it and I did it.  It wasn’t until I got back home and plotted out the route that I realised it was 3km and that I did it with a 5:56min/km or 9:33min/mile pace. Not incredible speedy but not incredibly slow either.

I’m feeling pretty damn proud of myself and proved that I can do this running thing. I still have a long way to go in improving my speed and distance, one might say it is a lifetime worth of improvement, but I’ve at least started that journey.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What are you thinking?

