Variation On A Theme – Game Of Thrones

If you follow me on Twitter you will know that I have gotten into Game Of Thrones, both the TV series and the books, in my usual obsessive way (Hurrah for Asperger’s).

When I first sat down to watch the TV series, I was blown away by the theme song. Not only does the music perfectly fit the series, but the opening sequence is impressive.  Even you never intend to watch this series, watch the opening sequence.  It puts other TV series to complete shame for just showing pictures of the cast with the show name written in a cool font.

The opening sequence changes depending on what cities are featured in the episode.  The video above is from the first episode.

However, fans are not content with enjoying the theme tune as it is, instead they mix it up, reinterpret it and post it on You Tube.  One of the fan favourite is the gorgeous multiple violin version by Jason Yang.  It is just amazing.

Then there is the Rock version, which is quickly becoming my favourite.  On hearing the theme song, I didn’t think this song needs some electric guitars, but it works surprisingly well and I just love the bass.

I love that shows like Game of Thrones inspire such creativity and the internet is able to be used to share that creativity with the world.

Winter is coming.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Variation On A Theme – Game Of Thrones

  1. I’ve heard that this was a fantastic show…typically not my genre but I think I may just give it a shot after reading your review and watching the theme.

    • Riayn says:

      Game of Thrones is one of those wonderful series that not only appeal to fantasy fans but to those that love a well done intelligent drama with lots of political intrigue. I hope that you love it.
      Be warned that if you do love it, you will soon find yourself up all night reading all five books in the series because you keep telling yourself just one more chapter.

  2. Oooh, I blasted through the first four of those books recently. Quite enjoyed them, and am looking forward to getting to see the show eventually. (Though I like to wait until at least a couple of seasons are out so I can watch masses of episodes all at once.) Excitedly waiting for the latest book to arrive in the mail…

    • Riayn says:

      I would probably start watching them before a couple of seasons come out or you could be waiting a very long time. Next season is not due out until Spring 2012 and the season after that, if they are given the green light for it, probably won’t be until late 2013. Since one season covers one book (so far), the end of the season stops at a good place.

What are you thinking?

