I’m in love….

… with my apartment.  Seriously, I love my apartment.  It just has this amazing vibe that I really can’t describe.  At home, I catch myself at times grinning for no other reason than that I love being in this space.  I still have quite a bit of decorating to do to make it more homely which will mean more trips to IKEA, which is probably why I have been putting it off.  I’m all IKEA’ed out. I would be quite happy never to see another allen key for as long as I live.  Still, even in its state of semi-decoratedness, my apartment still exudes this sense of home. I can’t recall another place in which I have felt so at peace. I feel my apartment should have a name, but what it is I don’t know, she hasn’t told it to me yet.

Does anyone else feel the same way about the place where they are currently living? And have you ever been crazy enough to name your apartment/house?

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m in love….

  1. ankew says:

    I think I might love this place if I could rip out one outside wall of my room and replace it with windows, or maybe a balcony and windows. And get a new front door, that does not stick.

  2. I’ve never heard of anyone naming an apartment. A car yes. Hmm…I wonder what would be a good name? If you pick something in German, be sure to translate it for us english folk :)

  3. mojorica says:

    I was so in love with our home that when it burned to the ground (struck by lightening), I rebuilt the exact same house! Yes, we love our home.

  4. Alison says:

    I felt that way about my apartment in Marrickville, it was solely mine and I smiled whenever I came home to it. It wasn’t huge, the walls were painted concrete, bathroom was pink but it was my place that I didn’t have to share with anybody unless I chose to invite them in. I didn’t name it but did whisper ‘hello house’ a few times when getting home and called the album of photos I took there ‘Apartment Story’ after a song by The National.

  5. scottsabode says:

    Never named a place but I know what you mean. I feel that way about most places I live once I make them my own. In our current house I finally had the nerve to paint a room red – something I’ve wanted to do for a very long time – and I love it!

  6. Kell says:

    The big thing is to own a home, right? So, some years back I purchased my first home (which I did like). Had an awesome pool put in which was great for parties, just the whole nine yards. But I couldn’t shake the burden I felt. Luckily, I got rid of the house without much problem before all this economic turmoil took over the world.
    Moved into an apartment with all the amenities, fixed it up the way I wanted (maps all over the wall to feed my map fetish), and I have been the happiest ever. I love this place and I completely happy. Houses aren’t for everyone, home is where your heart is.
    So, I know exactly how you feel.

What are you thinking?

