Autumn Is Coming

Autumn is coming.  The leaves on the trees are slowly turning yellow.  Days that used to get dark at 10pm are now getting dark at 9pm.  I’m not ready for Autumn, not yet.  I feel like I have barely had any summer thanks to the pathetic summer we have had in Hamburg this year. Temperatures between 19C and 21C with lots of rain is not summer.  However, I can’t stop the seasons marching on.  I just need to remember how beautiful Hamburg in Autumn is, with all the leaves turning such vibrant colours and make my peace with it.

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Meg

A thirty something queer Aussie geek girl who now lives in Germany.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Autumn Is Coming

  1. My hometown, in the U.S.’s Pacific Northwest, was full of autumn leaves come late September and early October. Most of the time I’m glad I’ve moved to Los Angeles, where there’s so much less rain, but when what should be autumn rolls around I find myself in a melancholy place. Those leaves mean change to me, and the possibility anything might be happen on the other side of autumn . . . when the world starts warming again and leads in a new year and new hope. I do so love seeing other peoples’ leaf pictures now!

    • Riayn says:

      LA sounds a lot like Sydney with the lack of autumn leaves. I never knew what I was missing until I moved to Hamburg. It’s just so gorgeous.

  2. Nooooo don’t say it! lol

    Autumn is approaching here in Canada as well. Instead of dying in the heat all day and night, it’s suddenly cooling off in the late afternoon, and like you, the odd leaf is changing colour.

    Even with a nice hot summer here, it hasn’t felt like it’s’ been long enough!

  3. Pingback: October’s Opal « Martin Webster, Esq.

  4. Pingback: Last moments from summer…. « amatulhafeez's blog

What are you thinking?

